17 education professionals from South Wales have been announced as finalists for the national awards

Today (8th April), 29 education professionals from across Wales have been revealed as finalists of the third Professional Teaching Awards Cymru.

The awards were created to celebrate the commitment, dedication and hard work of teachers across Wales. Over a hundred nominations came in from pupils, colleagues and parents and now the best of the best has been shortlisted for an award.

The winners from each of the ten categories will be announced at a special ceremony at Soughton Hall in May. Nominees in South Wales include Cadoxton Primary School for the Promoting Wellbeing, Inclusion and Relations with the Community award, and Robert Aldridge (Mary Immaculate High School) for the Teacher of the Year award.

The Promoting Wellbeing, Inclusion and Relations with the Community award is awarded to schools who demonstrate leadership in collaborative ventures, sharing excellence across all sectors to improve pupils’ learning and well-being.

The Teacher of the Year award is awarded to an individual that displays the qualities of an exceptional teacher, providing evidence of care, compassion and passion for their subject.

Last year’s School Business Manager/Bursar winner from South Wales, Jonathan Caple from Bishop Hedley Catholic High School said: “The school community were very supportive of my nomination and were delighted that I was chosen to be the recipient of the award.

Upon returning to school after winning the award it was fantastic to receive so many congratulations from both pupils and staff, with everyone interested in seeing the trophy and asking about the event.

The award that I received has also been welcomed by the Local Authority, ESTYN, press and parents and has provided positive publicity for the school as well as personal recognition for myself. I was delighted to have been part of the process and I wish good luck to all those who are finalists in 2019.”

Education Minister Kirsty Williams said: “As ever, the calibre of nominations is astounding, and it is truly humbling to see yet another group of inspiring finalists.

“Part of our national mission is to raise standards of education and make everyone proud to study in Wales. At the heart of the system are the teaching professionals.

“Every day teachers, support and business staff are all making a real difference to the lives of our young people and it’s vital that we recognise them for their contributions.

“The finalists are a credit to the profession. They should all be exceptionally proud of themselves and I am very much looking forward to meeting them all in May to celebrate their hard work.”

To be the first to find out the winner on Sunday 19 May watch on Facebook ‘Live’ www.facebook.com/educationwales and visit gov.wales/teachingawardscymru and keep an eye on the Education Wales social channels @WG_Education

Join the conversation with #TeachingAwardsCymru

The Professional Teaching Awards Cymru 2019 finalists:

Supporting Teachers and Learners

Jack Branford, St. Helen’s Primary, Swansea

Emma Gray, Bassaleg School, Newport

Shaun Pearson, Ysgol John Bright, Llandudno

Best Use of Digital Learning

Matt James, Lewis Girls Schools, Caerphilly

Phil Meredith, Caerleon Comprehensive School, Caerleon

Inspirational Use of the Welsh Language

Nia Williams, Alun School, Flintshire

Catrin Phillips – Pembrokeshire County Council, Haverfordwest

Mark Morgan, Pen Y Dre High School, Merthyr Tydfil

Promoting Collaboration to Improve Learning Opportunities

Richard Watkins, GWE, Conwy

Leanne Pownall, Llantwit Major Comprehensive School, Llantwit Major

Gemma Carr Evans, Bridgend College, Bridgend

Promoting Wellbeing, Inclusion and Relations with the Community

Fiona Thomas, Dwr y Felin Comprehensive School, Neath

Pembroke Dock Community School, Pembroke

Cadoxton Primary School, Barry

Headteacher of the Year

Tracy Jones, Ysgol Merllyn, Flintshire

Rhian Morgan Ellis, Ysgol Gyfun Cwm Rhondda, Porth

Ceri Parry, Ysgol Gymraeg Casnewydd, Newport

Outstanding New Teacher

Lucio Nocivelli, Eveswell Primary School, Newport

Hannah Cogbill, Cadoxton Primary School, Barry

Gruff Arfon, Ysgol Tryfan, Bangor

School Business Manager/Bursar

Gillian Stevenson, Elfed High School, Flintshire

Anna Hughes, Rhayader Church in Wales Primary, Rhayader

Gwyn Jones, Ysgol Eirias, Conwy

Teacher of the Year

Robert Aldridge, Mary Immaculate High School, Cardiff

Allison Pope, Cwm Primary School, Ebbw Vale

Cheryl Roberts, Ysgol Tryfan, Bangor

Youth Work in Schools

David Charles, Caldicot School, Monmouthshire

Amy Bolderson, Pontypridd High School, Pontypridd

Blaenau Gwent Youth Service Youth Workers, Ebbw Vale