Rob Jones

The Tom Robinson Band were and are new wave stalwarts and astute social commentators. Their first two albums with a bevy of bonus tracks is on its way as a single release package and the goods are well worth a listen. My fondest memories of TRB was on 11/6/1977 as a tune tasty teen I had my nose pressed against the window of the long lost Tonypandy Naval Club. The band played and I got a glimpse of the proceedings through the large window overlooking lower Court Street. However, I had no chance of getting in and my view from outside was short-lived as one of the committee members – a rather forceful gentleman – spotted me and I was on my heels. However, I do not know if []

that entitles me to claim that I have seen TRB live?!?
Years later, I remember a story that filtered back about the gig and that was the unfortunate Tom had a treasured leather jacket but sadly one of the gig goers was wearing that fashion item the following day as it went astray on the evening. Nicked in the Naval – I know that the venue did my hearing absolutely no favours when I did become a Friday and Saturday attendant of the venue a few years on.

Here is proof of that show in the below link: The albums with a pile of bonus tracks including live tunes from 78-79 is on our way and its well worth an investment….

TOM ROBINSON BAND | The Albums 78-79 2CD Edition

• 38 track 2CD digipack featuring all of the recordings made by T.R.B. for EMI Records between 1977-79.

• Disc 1 is the No.4 charting ‘Power In The Darkness’ album. Now with an additional ten bonus tracks including the No.5 hit single ‘2-4-6-8 Motorway’ and the Top 40 ‘Rising Free’ EP and ‘Up Against The Wall’ single.

• The second disc features the No.18 charting ‘T.R.B. Two’ album. This has an additional seven bonus cuts including the previously non CD extended version of ‘Never Gonna Fall In Love…(Again)’ which was co-written with Elton John.

• This album also features the ‘Bully For You’ single which was co-written by Peter Gabriel.

• The booklet contains detailed liner notes plus lots of clippings/memorabilia and picture sleeves from the era.

Today Tom hosts three shows a week on BBC Radio 6Music and continues to perform shows both solo and with the T.R.B. who will support The Undertones at:

Thu 15 Jun 2023 BEDFORD – Esquires

Fri 16 Jun 2023 WORCESTER – Huntingdon Hall

Sat 17 Jun 2023 BISHOPS STORTFORD – Sign of the Times Festival

Thu 05 Oct 2023 LONDON – Electric Ballroom [with THE UNDERTONES]

Fri 06 Oct 2023 CAMBRIDGE – Junction [with THE UNDERTONES]

Sat 07 Oct 2023 LEAMINGTON SPA – Assembly [with THE UNDERTONES]

Sun 08 Oct 2023 FARSLEY – Old Woollen

Click here for tickets





1 Up Against The Wall
2 Grey Cortina
3 Too Good To Be True
4 Ain’t Gonna Take It
5 Long Hot Summer
6 The Winter Of ’79
7 Man You Never Saw
8 Better Decide Which Side You’re On
9 You Gotta Survive
10 Power In The Darkness

11 2-4-6-8 Motorway
12 I Shall Be Released
13 I’m All Right Jack
14 Don’t Take No For An Answer
15 (Sing If You’re) Glad To Be Gay
16 Martin
17 Right On Sister
18 Winter Of ’79 (Live)
19 I’m All Right Jack (Live)
20 Waiting For My Man (Live)


1 All Right All Night
2 Why Should I Mind
3 Black Angel
4 Let My People Be
5 Blue Murder
6 Bully For You
7 Crossing Over The Road
8 Sorry Mr. Harris
9 Law And Order
10 Days Of Rage
11 Hold Out

12 Our People
13 Bully For You (Rough Mix)
14 Suits Me Suits You (LP Demo)
15 Never Gonna Fall In Love… (Again) (7” version)
16 Getting Tighter
17 Never Gonna Fall In Love… (Again) (12” version)
18 2-4-6-8 Motorway (Original demo)