The new chief of British tennis will attend his first official function in the role, when he is a guest of honour at the Tennis Wales awards in Cardiff in January.

Michael Downey, the former head of Tennis Canada, replaces Roger Draper as chief executive officer of the Lawn Tennis Association (LTA) on January 6th, and will attend the Cardiff event 12 days later.

Also attending will be Sarah Powell, the new chief executive of Sport Wales, joining players, volunteers, officials and supporters from all over Wales.

“It is a fantastic coup for us to welcome Michael to Wales so soon into his role,” said Peter Drew, chief executive of Tennis Wales. “It will be a great chance for us to show him some of our successes over the past year – not just in competitions but in the huge growth in participation, especially among children, where our investment of time and energy in schools is paying off.

“Primarily, though, the evening is about celebrating and rewarding the hard work of all those who make Welsh tennis the success it is.”

Finalists for the awards are:

Volunteer of the Year

Alan Brain (Swansea Tennis Centre),  Ann Powell (Allt-Yr-Yn LTC), and Jan Nevill (Newtown Tennis Club);

Young Volunteer of the Year

Amy Lloyd (Swansea Tennis Centre), George Morris (Mold Tennis Club), Harry Nevill (Newtown Tennis Club), and Mair Floyd-Bosley (Abergavenny Tennis Club);

Performance Coach of the Year

Becca Strelzyn (David Lloyd Tennis Centre), Chris Lewis (XL Tennis), and Katherine Maddock-Lyon (David Lloyd Tennis Centre);

Development Coach of the Year

John Williams (Cardiff LTC), Phil Thomas (Allt-Yr-Yn Tennis Club), and Rhys Morgan (Mackintosh LTC);

Club/Centre of the Year

Penarth Lawn Tennis Club, Rhiwbina Tennis Club, and Swansea Tennis Centre;

Team of the Year

Mackintosh Men’s Aegon Team, South Wales Men’s Summer County Team, and U18 Tri-Nations Team;

Club Team of the Year (New Award)

Cardiff Castle Ladies 3rd Team, Rhiwbina Ladies 1st Team, and Rhiwbina Men’s 1st Team;

Player of the Year

Chris Hill (Crickhowell), Evan Hoyt (Llanelli), and Josh Milton (Cardiff).

Local Authority

Flintshire County Council, and Powys County Council.

There will also bet an Outstanding Contribution to Tennis in Wales Award as well as an additional award.

The event, hosted by TV presenter Arfon Haines-Davies, takes place at the Royal Welsh College of Music and Drama, Cardiff, on Saturday January 18th, and will include a two-course hot fork buffet.

Tickets are £30 per head and are available from Maria Rees in the Tennis Wales Office / 029 20463335.

Information on all aspects of tennis in Wales is available from Tennis Wales at 029 20 463335 or and for regular updates follow Tennis Wales on Twitter @tenniswales