“‘I Heard A Cry’ confirms the hype around London trio Calva Louise” – The Line Of Best Fit

“A pummelling introduction from the scuzz-punk trio” – Clash

“Captivating pop hooks and riotous guitars” – Dork

** (

London newcomers CALVA LOUISE have unveiled the visuals for pulsating new anthem I Heard A Cry and announced plans for an extensive UK tour in March next year following the release of their debut album Rhinoceros on 1^st February.

Having developed a fierce live reputation within London’s flourishing punk scene, the chaotic garage rockers have since earned support slots alongside the likes of Albert Hammond Jr, Spring King and Anteros and just finished an extensive UK tour with label-mates The Blinders.

In their newest cut, two minutes of boundless energy showcasing a band brimming with potential, the three-piece lay down a real marker and reinforce why they’ve received extensive backing throughout the online community (The Line Of Best Fit, Clash, Dork) and across the airwaves (BBC Radio 1, BBC 6 Music, Radio X).

Discussing the visuals, frontwoman Jess Allanic stated: “The video begins with a group of actors rehearsing the 3rd act of the play Rhinoceros by Ionesco and the heated discussion between the director and the protagonist triggers the transformation of humans into rhinoceros”.

Commenting further on the concept, director Georges Hauchard-Heutte revealed: “I wanted to create a story where the two worlds of imagination and reality collapse, in a way we’re not sure where the limits are. That’s why we mixed animation and live footage. The wonderful work of Marion in drawing the animation gave life to the rhinoceros. We wanted to share hope coated in sadness, as Ionesco’s play does, in order to respect this masterpiece author. The violence of the rhinos against the fragility of the gazelle was a beautiful way to do it”.

Produced by Margo Broom (Fat White Family, Goat Girl) and mixed by Tom Longworth (Catholic Action, The Vryll Society), Calva Louise’s I Heard A Cry is out now via Modern Sky Records and available on all digital platforms.

Live Dates

13 Nov – The Social, London (Huw Stephens Presents)

21 Feb – Opwijk, Nosta

23 Feb – 4AD Muziekclub, Diksmuide (supporting Death Valley Girls)

24 Feb – Cinetol, Amsterdam (tickets here ( )

02 Mar – Think Tank? Underground, Newcastle (tickets here ( )

03 Mar – The Garage (Attic Bar), Glasgow (tickets here ( )

05 Mar – Oporto, Leeds (tickets here ( )

06 Mar – Night People, Manchester (tickets here ( )

07 Mar – The Lexington (BBC Intro), London (tickets here ( )

08 Mar – Jacaranda, Phase One, Liverpool (tickets here ( )

10 Mar – The Sunflower Lounge, Birmingham (tickets here ( )

11 Mar – The Louisiana, Bristol (tickets here ( )

12 Mar – Clwb lfor Bach, Cardiff (tickets here ( )

13 Mar – The Prince Albert, Brighton (tickets here ( )

16 Mar – Supersonic, Paris

Calva Louise is Jess Allanic (vocals, guitar), Alizon Taho (bass, backing vox), Ben Parker (drums, backing vox)