The Royal Philharmonic Orchestra

A Symphony of Soul

Out November 19th

LP and limited edition LP out February 18th 2022

Motown’s best known songs reimagined with incredible new orchestration
Featuring new vocals from Mica Paris and Beverley Knight

Released on November 19th by Motown/Island Records/UMC, A Symphony of Soul features tracks from the legendary Motown label faithfully reworked and reimagined with the globally renowned Royal Philharmonic Orchestra. Produced by the Grammy Award winning Brian Rawling, this new 11 track album features some of Motown’s best loved songs beautifully expanded with new orchestration. It is an incredible listening experience and the first time these songs have been represented in this way.

Using the original vocals throughout, two tracks – Marvin Gaye’s Abraham Martin & John and Jimmy Ruffin’s What Becomes Of The Brokenhearted – feature newly recorded vocals by Beverley Knight and Mica Paris, who feature in harmony with the original vocalists.

Motown is one of the world’s most iconic record labels, renowned for delivering an endless stream of global hits with melodies that continue to connect with every new generation. The home of one of the most successful song catalogues in the world, Motown remains peerless in modern music.

Recorded at Mark Knopfler’s British Grove Studios in London, the tracks on A Symphony of Soul work in harmony with the musicality of the songs by layering an orchestral backdrop. Using the original vocal stems and parts – typically only four tracks compared to the almost limitless number employed in modern recording – the tracks are reimagined while remaining faithful to the beauty of the originals.

A Symphony of Soul tracklisting:

1. Dancing In The Street – Martha Reeves & The Vandellas
2. Reach Out I’ll Be There – Four Tops
3. I Heard It Through The Grapevine – Marvin Gaye
4. What Becomes Of The Brokenhearted – Jimmy Ruffin with Mica Paris
5. The Tears Of A Clown – Smokey Robinson & The Miracles
6. I’ll Be There – The Jackson 5
7. I Hear A Symphony – The Supremes
8. Abraham, Martin & John – Marvin Gaye with Beverley Knight
9. My Girl – The Temptations
10. Just My Imagination (Running Away With Me) – The Temptations
11. With You I’m Born Again – Billy Preston & Syreeta

Catalogue numbers:

1CD – 3878931/0602438789313 – out 19th November

1LP – 3878932/0602438789320 – out 18th February 2022

Limited edition coloured vinyl – 20223878933 / 0602438789337 (D2C) out 18th February 2022